October 28, 2022 | 6—9:30pm
Army Navy Country Club, Arlington VA

Here’s to HOPE.

SCAN’s annual fundraising gala, Toast to Hope, is about coming together as a community to stand up for abused, neglected, and high-risk youth.

Our supporters are truly special. They are selfless, caring individuals devoted to protecting our community’s most vulnerable youth. As a survivor-led organization of child advocates, we know firsthand what it takes to make families, schools, and communities safer for the next generation.

Our supporters make that work a reality. Toast to Hope is our thank you to the donors that put vulnerable kids first. We hope you’ll join us.


End child abuse in Northern Virginia.

Stop Child Abuse Now (SCAN) of Northern Virginia is the only region-wide organization focused solely on preventing child abuse and neglect across Northern Virginia. Keeping children safe and helping them thrive requires a continuum of prevention programs that engage and empower families, professionals, and community members.


Children removed from their homes due to abuse or neglect face a profound unknown. We stay with them until they reach safe, supportive homes to heal. 


For resilient single mothers, intimate partner violence survivors, or parents working several jobs to make ends meet, SCAN provides a safe space to work through parenting challenges.


We know child abuse can be prevented. We partner at local, state, and national levels to make child abuse prevention a reality.


The Cleary Award

The Cleary Award was created to honor SCAN’s founder and Alexandria Living Legend, Dave Cleary, and recognize both individuals and organizations whose dedication and commitment to children and families stand out in ways that make a positive difference in the lives of children in Northern Virginia.

Stay tuned! 2022 Cleary Award Recipient to be announced this summer.

COVID event policies

As the pandemic seems to be receding, and vaccines are widely available, we’re excited to return to in-person events. SCAN’s COVID-related in-person event policy was created to promote the health and safety of our supporters, partners, and service recipients and to ensure our compliance with local government and venue requirements.

In the event that Toast to Hope is canceled, all ticket and sponsorship sales will transfer to fully tax-deductible donations to SCAN. In this situation, the entire price of each ticket and sponsorship will become tax-deductible.

As the pandemic evolves, our COVID policies may—out of necessity—be adjusted. Attendees will be notified of any changes to these policies.

We encourage attendees to either be vaccinated and boosted or have tested negative for COVID before attending any in-person events.

SCAN policies follow CDC guidance. As of March 2022, masks are optional for the Arlington public and for this event. People may choose to mask at any time. We ask that attendees use their best judgment to avoid the spread of COVID-19. If you are positive or symptomatic of COVID-19, you are encouraged to stay home.

We can’t wait to see you there!

October 28, 2022 | 6—9:30pm
Army Navy Country Club, Arlington VA

T H A N K    Y O U

to the sponsors that make this work possible

Benjamin and Anna Adams
Deborah and Glen Adams
Mary Agee
Gary and Marcia Ambrose
Nancy Anderson
Jacqueline Argueta
Theresa Bates
P. Becker
Anna Lura Bovee
Cathy Bradford
Doug Brown
Tashia Bunch
Bobby and Kimberly Calise
Eileen Caputi
Jim and Diann Carlson
Linda Carlson
Matthew Carter
Stephanie Cracknell
William Spencer Davis
Allison DiNardo
Taylor Donofrio and Laura Yannai
Jeff and Laura Donofrio
Susan Donovan
Rich Dougherty
Darryl and Nirvana Dove
Nancy and Patrick Duley
Jamie Dvoretzky
Wayne Ebenfeld
Amy Fries and Mark Eisenhower
Casey and Michael Empey
Karina Erickson

Lindsay Warner Ferrer
Gary Fifer
Linda Franz
Fay Gallagher
Sue and Marty Goodhart
Rochelle and Kenneth Gray
Tina Green
Diane Charles and Kevin Grim
Lisa Groover
Allyson Halverson
Dorothy Handy
Sylvia and William Harris
Johnathan Holloway
Stacy Holloway
Bootsie Humenansky and David Humenansky
Keith and Sharon Jones
Roger Kaplan
Ronald Keller
Courtney and Scott Knittle
Kirsten Langhorne
Jack and Karen LeCuyer
Glenn and Teri Lewis
Elizabeth Lichter
Beth and Tim Lovain
Julie Dion Lupro
Meloni McDougal
Jennier Mendoza
Christine Merk
Lanette and Jay Moore

John Morgan
Chelsey Ney
Miriam and Ted Nissly
Clare Noble
Kimberly O’Donnell
Michelle O’Hara-Levin and Jeremy Levin
Charles Partlow
Emily Robinson
Jean and James Robinson
David and Ellen Rohrer
Wendy Rubin
Paloma Santiago-Adorno
Schaufeld Family Foundation
Andria Smith
Janie Smith and Sonny Manser
Trent Sorensen
Maggie and Barry Stauffer
Terry and Linda Stewart
Tim and Lecia Stock
Regina and Frank Strong
Mary Sutera
Kay and John Tibbits
W. Vannewkirk
The Honorable George Varoutsos and Alexandra Varoutsos
Laurene Warhol
Deborah Warren
Jeffrey Wisoff
Kent and Mary Pat Woodman
Audrey Wright

Sponsorship Levels

Back to Top